Our Goal is Security and Ease

Our goal is to keep your data safe while making the online backup and restore of your data easy. You do not need to know anything about encryption to know the data you backup online is safe. At the same time, you should be able to easily add an additional layer of privacy without making Casbay difficult to use. 

Invisible encryption

When you use Casbay, data encryption is built in. Files scheduled for backup are encrypted on your machine. These encrypted files are then transferred over a secure SSL (https) connection to a Casbay datacenter where they are stored encrypted on disk. We use a combination of proven industry standard public/private and symmetric encryption methods to accomplish this task. To a Casbay customer all of this is invisible and automatic. For example, when you create your Casbay account, we automatically generate your private key that is used to uniquely protect your data throughout our system.

Accessing your data

Upon arriving at a Casbay datacenter, your data is assigned to one or more Storage Pods where it is stored encrypted. Access to your data is secured by your Casbay account login information (your email address and password). When you provide these credentials, your private key is used to decrypt your data. At this point you can view your file/folder list and request a restore as desired. New: Casbay has enabled two-factor authentication. Now a 6-digit code can be sent to your phone during sign-in for an extra layer of security.

Restoring data

When you request a data restore, we do what is known as a cloud restore. This simplifies the data restoration process. For example, let’s assume your hard drive crashes and you get a new hard drive or even a new computer. To restore your data you first log in to Casbay using a web browser by providing your Casbay account information (email address and password). Once you have logged in to the Casbay secure web interface you can request a restore of your data. You do not have to install Casbay to get your data back. To make this work, we decrypt your data on our secure restore servers and we then zip it and send it over an encrypted SSL connection to your computer. Once it arrives on your computer, you can unzip it and you have your data back.

Cleaning up after a restore

When you request a restore, we locate and assemble a copy of your data on a secure restore server in our datacenter.  Once we have sent you your restore data, you can choose to delete it immediately from the restore server or let it be automatically deleted after 7 days.  Of course the original copy of your encrypted data remains stored safely away in the datacenter.